• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Problems finding seating depth

predatornut

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 9, 2009
North Dakota
This morning I was trying to measure the C.O.A.L. on my R700 5R 300 WM with 190gr Berger vld hunting bullets. I was using a Stoney Point C.O.A.L. guage and comparator to measure to the ogive. I was getting measurements from 2.807 to 2.840. I just am lost as to why. I was using it the same as I always have and have never had any trouble getting consistant results. This is my first time loading with vlds and they didn't seem to have a stop when pushing the bullet into the lands, it felt kind of "mushy". I am just looking for a little schooling on technique for this since I would like to seat these kissing the lands to start my load development.

Thanks.

Re: Problems finding seating depth

i'd just load up and shoot. You'll be doing a seating depth test on paper anyways, and i think berger suggests doing .050 increments for the intial test. So that variation shouldnt be a problem since its just an arbitrary starting point.

you can load up two , COALs at both 2.807 and 2.840 , then chamber both rounds and one should show more blemish marks then the other. If they both show marks then your 2.840 is just excessive.