• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Problems with .223 OAL - Driving Me Nuts.

bayou06

Private
Minuteman
Feb 16, 2009
Louisiana
BLUF: I am having inconsistencies in my .223 OAL while loading some 55 FMJBT and it’s driving me nuts.

First, some background, I am new to rifle and precision reloading (I’ve reloaded pistol for many years). After a lot of research and study, I started reloading for my little AR-15 carbine. Currently the loading is just for plinking.

I am using Lee Pacesetter dies on a 3 Turret Lee press.

Here are the components:

Brass: Batches of PPU, Winchester & RP, all once fired.
Powder: RL7 @ 21.5 grains
Primer: CCI 41
Bullet: 55 FMJBT w/ Cannalure – Bulk no-name
OAL: 2.40

Now the problem: While reloading the PPU I kept getting some wide discrepancies in OAL. Ranging from 2.20 to 2.50. Most fell into the 2.30 to 2.45 range. Even when the OAL was relatively consistent, the cannalure would vary where it met the case mouth. I suspect that the problem lies in the bullet manufacture or possibly my die & press set up. The Winchester and RP varied between 2.30 to 2.45. The fell into this range more consistently, but still varied.

My questions:

1. Do bulk bullets really vary that much in shape and OAL? I would assume there would be some minor differences, but this much? I earlier reloaded a few 55 grain Sierra Spitzers that seemed only to vary a very small degree.

2. Does the placement of the cannalure vary on bulk bullets as well?

3. Could movement/misalignment in the bullet mandrel in the seating die cause this? I kept an eye on my dies during this batch and the die and depth adjustment knob didn't budge.