• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Project: Coyote Smasher

orkan

Primal Rights, Inc.
Banned !
Minuteman
  • Oct 27, 2008
    South Dakota, USA
    www.primalrights.com
    leadoff_coyote_smasher.jpg

I hunt coyotes. It's one of my favorite things to do. I've been hunting coyotes for over 20 years. Every fall when the temps start to turn cold, song dogs all across South Dakota start putting on fur. While fur prices are nothing like they were a couple decades ago, a prime silver-belly coyote can still bring as much as $40 on the dog, and quite a lot more if you skin them out. Yet the money just helps offset the fuel expense. The real reason I hunt them is the public service aspect. Cattle and sheep ranchers lose calves and lambs to coyotes each year. It's also very challenging and exciting. With winter storms like that which decimated the cattle in western South Dakota last week, the ranchers need all the help they can get. Having one of the most alert and wary animals in God's creation come prancing into your call looking for a meal is one of the most adrenaline-pumping situations you can get yourself into as a hunter. It never gets boring, and it's just as difficult today as it was 20 years ago. Come to think of it, it's even harder now than it was then. Back when I started, almost no one else was doing it. These days, thanks to Randy Anderson and the like, everyone is out trying to call coyotes. This makes for some wary coyotes by the time February rolls around!