• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Proof Research Stainless Barrel Performance

staticTango

Private
Minuteman
Apr 9, 2010
Blacksburg, VA
I’m pretty new to PRS and am considering buying a proof research stainless 6GT prefit for my Defiance Ruckus action. Does anyone have experience with their accuracy / thermal drift / performance? I currently use a Bartlein chambered by GAP and get .1-.2 mil drift(.1 after 5-10 rounds fired).

Is there any real advantage to getting GAP to do another prefit barrel, or save $$ and get a proof prefit?

I’m on my second 6.5 creed one for a bighorn. Never noticed any thermal shift (proof comp contour), but never checked for it super scientifically. I didn’t spend a ton of time doing load dev, but my first one was about a 3/4 MOA barrel on average and the current one is about 1/2 MOA on average. I’ve been pretty happy with them for $500.

Reactions: YASSER
I have a Proof 6GT and 6.5CM prefits for Defiance actions, neither show signs of drift.

Proof prefits are excellent quality. You won't be disadvantaged in any way vs any other prefit.

As far as your concern over "thermal drift", what you attribute to "thermal drift" I suspect is just normal shot dispersion. A thin profile/contour barrel will definitely heat up faster than a heavier barrel, and shot groups will open up once a barrel gets hot, but I doubt there is any appreciable change in group size over a 10 shot string in your 6GT.

Reactions: YASSER
The way I see it is that with a proof prefit you have a very good chance at a good shooting barrel, some are better than others, but they are all good.. With a Bart chambered by a great smith, you have a near 100% chance at an excellent shooting barrel. That's been my experience as well as some friends.