• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Proper Break In - Weatherby Vanguard

sroc112

Private
Minuteman
Feb 17, 2024
USA
Greetings all,

Will be picking up my new Weatherby Vanguard in 6.5 CM this week and plan on getting to the range shortly after. I'm new to the rifle scene, and purchased this mainly to have some fun at medium distances at the range, but also would like to plan my first hunting trip come the fall as well.

Before I set out to shoot with it over the next week or 2, just wanted to ask if there is a proper break in technic one should do for the barrel? It's #2 contour, 24 inch, and I'll be adding on a JCB Solutions 3 port mini break (already have it).

Any pointers so I can make sure I get the most out of this rifle would be greatly appreciated!

Weatherby recommends clean, shoot three, repeat for twenty rounds using two different loads. I just read that on their website. It is not my opinion.

JFR

I would shoot and sight it in and shoot how ever many rounds. Take it home clean and remember next time out it might take a few rounds to settle back in to your zero.

Reactions: wadebrown
Keeping temperature/burn in mind, any number of rounds I should not exceed in that first range trip?

Keeping temperature/burn in mind, any number of rounds I should not exceed in that first range trip?
I would not worry too much. only thing I would worry about is sending rounds to fast down it.

I would shoot and sight it in and shoot how ever many rounds. Take it home clean and remember next time out it might take a few rounds to settle back in to your zero.

This works for me.

I've found that most factory barrels take a while to truly "break-in" and the hoops they make you jump through are just disguising that fact.

Reactions: Jrb572