• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Rifle Scopes Pros & Cons of Going totally metric

aquinas

Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 11, 2010
Il
If a sniper were to go totally metric-that is, he used meters for laser ranging, centimeters for calculating elevation/windage adjustments, and a centimeter-increment scope-he would theoretically operate a higher efficiency than a counterpart using a combination of mils, meters and minutes of angle.

Go easy on me, I'm a newbie.

Is this similar or identical to mil/mil. If not, what are the pros and cons of this idea?

Re: Pros & Cons of Going totally metric

You're making this up. There's no such thing as a centimeter-increment scope. And the measurements are the same regardless of the units one uses to measure things.

who's got this one?

Its been discussed in detail here many times. The bottom line is, whatever system you use, learn it, know it, live it, it will work for you just as well as what the next guy is using.

Kirk R

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Graham</div><div class="ubbcode-body">You're making this up. There's no such thing as a centimeter-increment scope. And the measurements are the same regardless of the units one uses to measure things. </div></div>

Try this link: http://www.bearbasin.com/schmidt-bender-policemarksman-scopes.htm

You'll notice S&B's scopes are available in both 1/2 and centimeter clicks listed under "click adj. value." It would be quite possible therefore to go totally metric.