• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

PRS Chassis Optimization - JAE700 vs Spuhr SICS vs Foundation Centurion

QuickOne

Private
Minuteman
Supporter+
Oct 31, 2011
I wanted to get the view from the Hide on an optimization I'm working through. I've been shooting PRS for a few years and am still working on optimizing my setup. I'm down to the stock/chassis and figuring out what works best. I wanted to get the opinion of the Hide on choices. Note all rifles are build the same (impact 737, 6CM, 26" M24 barrel, TT Diamond)

My areas of focus for the chassis have been balance and feel. I've narrowed it down to three, and I own all three, though waiting on the Foundation to arrive.

1. Spuhr SICS - Great chassis, work of art from a machining perspective. The limiting factors for me are the butt pad sucks (too soft), The cheek pad is very wide (pushing your face off to the left) and their barricade stop pushes the pivot point on a bag pretty far forward - requiring a lot of front end weight to get natural balance. Vertical thumb grip was odd, but quickly got used to it. Minimizes tension in my hand relative to MDT chassis' that require the thumb to be more towards the right.