• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

PRS Talk PRS production vs open class

Gtrnn

Private
Minuteman
Apr 3, 2020
Please provide the pros and cons between two classes other than the price. Which one has more participants and what differences are there when you actually compete. Given the new price limit of $2,500 in the production class and several good options such as MPA, I wonder if this is a good place for me to start since I'm new to long range shooting.
However, my dilemma is I could also build the rig that is about $1,000 more that would be competitive in the open class ( without a scope). I understand that the scope can drive the cost as much as the rifle itself.
Many thanks.

the way its set up, there is no real difference in them other than price...production class cost limits are a joke with whats available now

open has way more participants, its not even close

productions shoots the same COF and with the new "production" rifles companies are putting out, they arent any less capable than open rifles...youre just restricted to package they offer vs piecing it together yourself

the way its set up, there is no real difference in them other than price...production class cost limits are a joke with whats available now

open has way more participants, its not even close

productions shoots the same COF and with the new "production" rifles companies are putting out, they arent any less capable than open rifles...youre just restricted to package they offer vs piecing it together yourself