• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

PRS rifle build choices

patriotnation

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
May 21, 2018
Massachusetts
I just started shooting PRS recently and have researched and read a lot on the subject of rifle choices for builds but would like some other opinions.
I began with a Tikka CTR 6.5 creedmoor in a KRG bravo chassis.
I am thinking of going to 6 mm creedmoor since it is available in Lapua brass, easy to reload, takes the same small rifle primer and H4350 powder, and hopefully shoots well with SMK 107 grain or similar. I settled on a 1-7.5 twist for barrel twist with 26" length.

I ordered an MDT ACC chassis to begin with

I will go with a Terminus Zeus action and probably a prefit barrel
This is where I seem to not find exactly what I thought I wanted.
I see that GA Precision has Bartlein prefit barrels for a decent price but I was looking for heavier barrel than the #7 they offer which is more like MTU/M24 contour rather than say a heavy varmint. I do want a Bartlein barrel, they have that and they have 7.5 twist, also threaded muzzle.

Triggertech diamond straight trigger

Area 419 Hellfire break

I am hoping going to 6 CM and a heavier gun, I can stay on target better.

Does this look like a good plan? Thanks

Only thing I’d suggest is to work on being able to stay on target with the 6.5 first. Smaller round + heavy chassis = bandaid.

The build looks good.

I do keep working on that and can stay on in prone, it is just some other positions I have some difficulty. I will keep practicing though.
Thanks

I just started shooting PRS recently and have researched and read a lot on the subject of rifle choices for builds but would like some other opinions.