• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Prs rifles beginner/budget and if the remington 700 is worth getting off the shelf in 2024?

StocknRock

Private
Minuteman
Apr 1, 2024
California
Newbie here lol I recently discovered this place but I feel Id definitely get a lot more help than anywhere else.

Im considering a higher power rifle for some precision shooting (2-350 yards) practice to upgrade from my Savage MkII bull barrel 22lr for 50-100 yds

From that alone that shows Im a novice on bolt actions, but looking to improve and get something I could potentially have for hunting as well as longer range shooting.

Im looking into a 308 win rifle. Something within a fairly common cartridge thats locally available, and been hovering around a few set of rifles: ruger american, savage axis, howa 1500, and the remington 700 (insert “bergara and or tikka) Mostly due to price as I cannot afford an over $800 bolt action for this atm, but would be open to building (doubting the price would be the same or lower).

After the whole debacle of Freedom company and Remington sometime ago, is (what I consider) the classic remington 700 getting in 2024?

Im not hoping to spend too terribly much as it would be a workhorse to use for practicing some longer range shooting.

The cons Id consider would be the difficulty of working on them, remingtons have the most aftermarket support out of any of the mentioned manufacturers (second being ruger), but are hell to rebarrel due to needing to have the barrel rethreaded to match the specific receiver. This makes me worry as even as a novice, I am confident I can rebarrel my rifle and learn to maintain my tools but with precision tooling needed for that, I definitely hesitate on the rifle I really want

Last edited: