• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

PVA vs MPA barreled action

Maveroid

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Jul 21, 2018
Hi guys,

I’ve been looking for a barreled action to put into a MDT ACC in either 6.5CM or 6.5PRC. I’ve narrowed it down to the PVA John Hancock(ARC action) or a MPA (Curtis)barreled action with the TT diamond trigger. From my research either should be a great choice. Anyone have opinions? I’m open to others also but want to keep the barreled action under 2k.

The scope I’ve chosen will be a Minox ZP5.

Im fairly new to the long range stuff as a FYI. I also plan on getting into reloading. As for use, it will just be a gun to take to the range plinking for now. I work overseas so I’m not home enough to get into PRS atm.

Unless your hunting or have access to 1200+ yards I'd stick with creedmoor. The PRC will cost more for ammo or reloading components and burn out the barrel quicker.

I won’t be starting to build until around July. I’ll definately look into LRI and Keystone. Ive also been watching the PX. The wait times wouldn’t bother me either. I do 6 months over seas and a month off rotations at the moment. If wait times weren’t a issue would PVA be worth it? I don’t really plan on shooting this gun till 2020.

So of those two, which has the best components? Or should I just pick one because they are both great? They both seem to be similar in price, shoot sub 1/2 MOA, and be semi custom. Is there a downside to either? I’ve read the Curtis action is as smooth as they get. They both probably shoot better than me but I’d still like to pick whichever is the best bang for the buck.