• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Quality optics vs overall expense

natesguns

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 3, 2008
Missouri
I'm not a pro, I don't claim to be the best shot or have the best equipment. I do understand that you must own quality equipment if you expect quality. I'm a sport class tactical shooter. I enjoy shooting long rang out to 1,300 yards when I get the chace and doing this takes somewhat expensve equipment, where do you draw the line? I'm currenlty using Nightforce NXS 3-15X50 MLR. Great for what I'm doing. I've looked at S&B, Zeiss, Leupy, and so on. A freind recently suggested MARCH optics, at a price on the high end of $3,000. I paid less than half for my Nightforce and I have a hard time thinking that a scope can be worth this kind of money and perform that much better. So now that I've opened the can lets here what you have to say.
Thanks for all the coments

Re: Quality optics vs overall expense

This will go as far as your pocket book. If you want something that has a low probability of failing, then a Nightforce works great. There are just a few more features you get from a Schmidt, Henny, Premier. I wouldn't concern yourself with all the expensive optics. I have a Premier, and I like it, will it do what a Nightforce will, yep, does the Premier have better glass and some better features, yep. Thats about it. I think the Nightforce is the most rugged optic on the planet.

I'm a big fan of Nightforce, but certainly won't say that NF is as good as it gets; although it's certainly as good as it needs to be to get the job done, when lesser scopes might fail.

You can take this for what it's worth from a guy that's good at breaking stuff.