• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Quest. to the experts regarding COAL incosistency.

Jimmy2Times

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 5, 2005
Amesbury, Massachusetts
OK, so let me preface this by saying my reloading press is a piece of shit. It's an old RCBS 4x4 auto that I've been using for 10 years. It's great for pistol rounds but sucks for rifle stuff. When I load rifle rounds, I do not load them progressively. I load them single stage, except I use the individual stations of the progressive press. It works out real well except for the bullet seating. My bullet seating depth varies from anywhere between .010 to .015 round to round. I can't figure out why. I have checked everything, die is tight, shellplate is tight, die guts are tight, I can't figure it out. I've even went so far as to use the same exact position on the shellplate each time I seat a bullet, but it still varies. Is this variation normal? Is it possibly causing inconsistency in my reload performance? I really need to try some FGGM or BHA.

Thanks, as always, for any insight.

Re: Quest. to the experts regarding COAL incosistency.

What you are finding is not uncommon. It could be from several things, but probably NOT the press.

It most likely could be:

A. Differences in bullet length/shape from wherever the seating stem contacts the bullet to the bullet tip - especially noticeable in lead tipped softpoints. This is 99% likely to be your problem. Get a comparator and use it to measure OAL instead of measuring to the tip, if you are concerned about this. "Match" bullets are more consistent for this - but still not perfect. The cure is a different seating stem, different bullet, or to ignore it because it's probably NOT a problem unless you are trying to win a benchrest match.