• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Question about M40a5 zeroing?

USMC_CPL

Private
Minuteman
Jun 28, 2022
New York
I'm new to Precision shooting, so please excuse my ignorance. I have a 100% correct M40a5 built by GAP topped with Civilian S&B PMII 3-12x50 with correct reticle & turrets. To date I've only boresighted, set zero stops, and dialed in best I could while doing first 20rd barrel break-in on short 100yd range I have behind the house. With elevation dialed all the way down, the closest range I figure I can "zero" for would be 300 or 400yds since at 100yds I was having to hold between 2- 2.5mil low. My question is, is this normal for elevation range adjustment for M40a5 to be for 300yds to 1000yds for example? Do Marine Snipers have to used hold offs for ranges inside 300yds, or is there something wrong with my setup? I understand Marine Snipers taking shots inside 300yds should be uncommon and being a newbie I just assumed a quality scope with a lot of elevation adjustment would have the range for 100-1000, but I also realize it's mounted on a 30moa rail. Hoping it's normal and someone could set my mind at ease. BTW used Remington 175gr Match for break in, but will be shooting 175gr FGMM from here on out.

USMC Badger 30moa and USMC Badger 34mm rings. Everything is 100% authentic. Action machined for rail and installed @ GAP. Rings and Scope installed myself per Badger instructions/ torque specs. Only thing I didn't do was lap the rings.