• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Question about trimming new brass

marksmatter

Private
Minuteman
Aug 16, 2011
ATL
I'm brand new to reloading, so please bear with me. After resizing (mainly to round out the necks), my new Winchester 7-08 brass measures anywhere from 2.025" to 2.033" in length. Most cases fall into the 2.027" to 2.030" range. My rifle's chamber can handle case length up to 2.062".

Should I trim the brass down to say 2.027" and make most of the brass the same (keeping the few under that for fouling rounds, etc.). Or, should I not bother trimming at all and deal with this after the cases are once-fired and a little longer in length? Roughly, how much might the length increase after the first firing? Thanks.

Re: Question about trimming new brass

Full length sizing. That's the only sizing die I have. Some of the necks were dinged up from transit.

In my opinion...just load it up and shoot. We are tactical shooters and those .00Xs don't matter as much as they would for a bench shooter. If you want to trim, go ahead, but I don't think you will see any extremely different results (if any at all). You will need to trim once the cases start stretching to over max case length.

If you are going to bother with reloading you should trim your brass. The more variables you can eliminate the more accurate your loads will be