• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Question-Bullet Comparators

Sigarmed 1

Private
Minuteman
Oct 2, 2008
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
I'm just getting started reloading and am confused about something already.
crazy.gif
I am using a Hornady Lock-N-Load OAL gauge and the associated 30 cal. bullet comparator. After measuring the OAL many times to get a good average, I tried doing the same thing using a Sinclair comparator. All of my readings were consistently off by .095. I then measured how deep the bullet fit into each comparator and it turns out that the same bullet sits .095 deeper in the Sinclair comparator. So, which measurement do I use to set up my die and why? I'm sure there is something obvious that I am missing so hopefully the wealth of experience here will set me straight!
smile.gif
Thanks in advance for any help you guys can provide to get me started off on the right foot!

Re: Question-Bullet Comparators

My method is simple and doesn't require any tools, just micrometers, simply squeeze a fired case with your fingers so it wil grip a bullet (same as your reloading with) insert round in chamber and close bolt. extract and this is "on the lands". if you have controlled round feed you'll have to put the case under your extractor. if you need "jam" (bergers) your oal will be longer than this. if you need "jump" (smk) your oal will be that much shorter. Dig?

You basically just need to go apples to apples - oranges to oranges. Whatever you measure one with whether it be micrometer calipers, Sinclair, Redding, whatever use that everytime. You might get rid if the other one or write down which one you use to avoid confusion.