• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Question on resizing with SAC die

AFancyPenguin

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 26, 2019
MN
I am sizing 1x fired Peterson 6.5CM brass shot from an American Rifle Co CDG. For die setup, I usually find a piece of brass that I barely can start to feel tension on the bolt handle and zero my comparator on that, then set the die to bump 1 to 1.5 thousandths back.

I've never used a SAC sizing die before now and I set it up per their video instructions, adjusted to get my shoulder bump and now the resized brass is noticeably more difficult to close the bolt on. It chambers fine it just feels like I added brass length. I am at a loss to why the sized brass with a shoulder bump fits tighter in the chamber. All the measurements I've taken with my calipers show the brass is smaller other than length, but I confirmed with my borescope the brass length is not bottoming out at the end of the chamber. What am I missing? Any tips?

This all sounds way more complicated than it needs to be.

Strip the bolt and size a piece of brass down until the bolt almost drops freely, then size down another .001 and the bolt should fall completely free with gravity. Set that piece of brass as your "zero" and just set your die up to to size all your brass to that same size. No need to look for a piece of brass that barely chambers as you're now at the mercy of how consistent that piece of brass is.

With a stripped bolt falling free, you'll have room in the chamber for any inconsistent shoulders that are slightly longer and never have to worry about anything else.

Reactions: Jcarpenter223
This all sounds way more complicated than it needs to be.