• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Question on Zero Distance

LaGrange

Private
Minuteman
Feb 22, 2022
Mississippi
This is my first post and I am a Rookie at this game, so please take it easy on me. I have access to a 1000 yard range with a sturdy shooting bench 45 minutes from my house, but can only get a 25 yard shot at a target at my house before I go to the big range. I know it is best to zero at 100 yards, but if i cant and I enter all the correct info into the Hornady 4DOF calculator using the 25 yard zero can I expect the moa figures to be close at 100 yard intervals out to 1000? I am shooting .300RSAUM model 700 with ELDM 155 bullets at 3175 according to my chrono. The chart says -3.37 moa at 100, -2.21 at 200, and -.38 at 300 before needing dial up of 1.79 moa at 400. This means i should be shooting 6 inches high at 100, 4 inches high at 200 before getting back real close to zero at 300? Thanks

Why not get on paper at home and adjust your ~13 clicks high for 100 (assuming you are using 1/4 MOA) then confirm/adjust zero at 100 at your range?

Are you saying you have 25yards at home, and the range is only 1000y, nothing inside 1000y?

The chart says -3.37 moa at 100, -2.21 at 200, and -.38 at 300 before needing dial up of 1.79 moa at 400. This means i should be shooting 6 inches high at 100, 4 inches high at 200 before getting back real close to zero at 300? Thanks
First off why do you want a 300 yard zero? That does nothing for you at all.

What I think you are saying is that the bullet path is not a straight line. It's like a rainbow. Where the flight path of the bullet crosses back into your 'zero setting' is between 300 and 350 yards.