• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Question Subsonic Reloaders

HenryTheAce

Pushing Tin
Minuteman
Sep 8, 2017
Michigan
First off I don’t reload. So I’m a complete novice.

I have a 10” 1:16tw barrel 450 bushmaster bolt action. Ammo I have is some Black Butterfly Maker Bullets 425gr subsonic buzzsaw. Originally I sighted it in suppressed (maybe shot 20-30rounds) no problem.. Fully cleaned barrel.. Just took it out on its second trip. Shot it suppressed again and it was on target 7-8 shots. Then all over the place. I mean some on target, some on target 8-10” off from POA, some not even on paper.

Went to check target and what I’m seeing is the bullet keyholing on some impacts.

Shot some full power factory Hornady FTX loads and it printed a good 3 shot group. Went back to the subs and all over the place.

Why would it shoot good the first 30-40 shots with subs then all the sudden be way off? Is 10” barrel at 1:16tw not enough length or not enough twist to stabilize them? I notice that the barrel gets extremely copper fouled. Can easily see heavy heavy streaks of copper with the naked eye. Is it possible that they only stabilize the first 10 or so shots out of a clean barrel then due to copper fouling become unstable the more shooting you do?

Did I just get lucky in not getting a baffle strike in the begging? Just chalk it up as a loss and not mess around with these subs anymore?

planned on using it for a 50-75yd deer gun with subs.

Attachments

• 23316E65-B4A3-45AF-AB38-E0330123F8E1.png
    23316E65-B4A3-45AF-AB38-E0330123F8E1.png
    2.3 MB · Views: 41
Ladder load development and without suppressor