• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Questions about my savage .308

916dude!

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 4, 2009
Sacramento,CA
I bought a customized savage 10FP of another hide member and took it too the range the other day. I shot some 7.62x51 NATO ammo. With the first round fired I had pressure signs and the same with the second round and the case stuck in the chamber. After having problems with those two I switched to some brown bear that they were selling at the range house. And didn't have any problems with them. I was wondering what could have caused the problem with the NATO ammo? Or if my spacing could be off since you can do it yourself on a savage. I'm a newbie so what do you guys think?

Re: Questions about my savage .308

Hard to say with such a short description.

I have a 10FP also and never any issues with FGMM ammo. Had some Prvi Partizan rounds that didn't want to chamber however (bullet was already into the bore before bolt was closed).

If you have the tools to headspace the Savage then it won't cost you anything to check/fix it. Hey... it's Memorial Day weekend, I can't think of a better project. ;-)

Otherwise, it's not expensive to either get it checked or buy the GO/NO-GO gauges to check yourself.

if its a DIY gun done by someone else you really might wanna consider a set of guages before firing this weapon again, they are something like $45 a set, not bad for piece of mind.

Thanks guys! I'll have to get the wrench and guage. Unfortunately I'm working this weekend so I won't be able to work on it but I guess that's what's you get when you're an overtime whore! LOL I'll get those parts on order. Thanks guys!