• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Questions on the lower end of the market

WhoAmI

Private
Minuteman
Jan 21, 2014
Idaho
I want a cheap starter rifle to get into shooting long range something like a savage axis or a howa or Steven any one have thought on a beginner small baby step into long range iv seen people post the savage 10T for 599 or less but they are rare I hear

I'm no pro but for $600 range I would personally go with Remington 700. One of the straightest shooting guns out of the box and the mods and furniture are widely available. I picked up one at Cabelas in Lacey WA for $499 on sale.

In the interest of full disclosure I will say I dont like Savage one bit after an incident on JBLM a few years ago. Guy stove piped a round and I got fragged in the back with his rifle and scope. I know the rifle had nothing to do with it necessarily but I just cant bring myself to get one or recommend it.

Last edited:
Any of the ones you mentioned would be fine starter rifles. Just try and find the on that feels best for a good price. Would recommend 223 or 308 caliber (223 is cheaper to shoot,if you're on a tight budget! Also for a good starter scope you can't beat the SWFA fixed scopes with matching reticle and turrets for $399!

Remington 700. Cheap, accurate, and any smith would be more than happy to work on it later on should you choose to customize it.

Thanks all iv mostly been lookin online and most all guns are marked up on there I'd guess but I could find a 700 online for under 750 o0 I was thinking 260 but iv always wanted a 300wm bullets are kinda an issue but not a big one because I reload already but thanks again for all the useful information

IMO you would be best off to save a few hundred more and get a Tikka t3 varmint.