• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Questions regarding building a custom .308

Richardd

Private
Minuteman
Nov 26, 2010
New Orleans, Louisiana
Hey everyone, I am quite new here to the hide and wanted to first say thanks in advance. I am new to the LR shooting and wanted to build an .308 AICS custom. I understand that I can use a R700 and go from there but I dont mind paying extra for a custom rig. I just wanted to ask before I started to see what I am getting myself into. The things I were looking at getting were the:

Stiller Tac30 AW (Group Buy)
Rock Creek Barrel .308 20 inch 11 twist (Group Buy)
AICS 1.5 Chassis
Jewell Trigger
Badger 20 MOA Rail and 30mm Rings
Vortex Viper PST 6-24x-50 FFP

My question, is that would I need to buy anything else to complete the rig? Besides getting the barrel fitted to the action, is there any other gunsmithing work required? I understand it will take time and dont mind waiting. Thank you for taking the time to read my post and really appreciate it.

Re: Questions regarding building a custom .308

Seems like you can afford a nice setup- what are your goals?

Sounds like a sweet rig. As far as bases go, I am pretty sure you can't use the badger base on a Stiller Action. Stiller is offering his 20 MOA base for $50 in the group buy.

No other gunsmithing should be required.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: idahowitzer</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Seems like you can afford a nice setup- what are your goals? </div></div>