• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Quickest procedure to reduce time/trips to the range in load development?

Freedomaintfree

Private
Minuteman
Dec 1, 2019
I am developing a load for my 7mm Rem Mag. I am new to all of this and haven't loaded a single round yet (so please go easy on me). I want to use 160 Accubonds, H1000 powder and Federal 215 primers. I have cleaned, prepped and sorted my brass by weight. I found the case base to ogive length and determined a seating dept .02 off the lands to be 2.8190. I still have to see if this will fit in the magazine... may have to shorten it up a bit.

The Hogdon website shows a 160 Partition H1000 load with 62-66 grains of powder, but looking online it appears most folks are using about 70 grains on their H1000 load with Accubonds (I guess they create less pressure than a Partition and are closer to a BTSP bullet). I know many people are using other powders for 7mm Rem Mag loads, but I would like to try to use powder that I think will work well for both my 7mm Rem Mag and 300 win mag (which I plan to load with either 215 Berger Hybrids or 210 LR Accubonds).

I believe I am ready to load some ammo!! What procedure would you recommend for reducing time and trips to the range to get my load dialed in?

Thanks for the help.

I am developing a load for my 7mm Rem Mag. I am new to all of this and haven't loaded a single round yet (so please go easy on me). I want to use 160 Accubonds, H1000 powder and Federal 215 primers. I have cleaned, prepped and sorted my brass by weight. I found the case base to ogive length and determined a seating dept .02 off the lands to be 2.8190. I still have to see if this will fit in the magazine... may have to shorten it up a bit.