• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

R700 in 300WM

Jakel9291

Private
Minuteman
Sep 19, 2022
USA
So I’m very new to building a bolt action rifle.
I’m planning on a 300WM build using a magpul Hunter 700L stock.
I have no clue what works, what bolt diameter works. I’ve read .475 to .540
Money is not the issue and I want to do this right the first time. The rifle will be primarily used as a hunting platform.
Any information helps!
Thank you!

You need a .532 bolt face. If money’s no object why are you using a Remington 700? There’s tons better options out there (impact, defiance, big horn, stiller, etc)

You need a .532 bolt face. If money’s no object why are you using a Remington 700? There’s tons better options out there (impact, defiance, big horn, stiller, etc)
Preference really, I could of summed it up a little better. I’m not afraid to spend money on a quality barrel and action

Preference really, I could of summed it up a little better. I’m not afraid to spend money on a quality barrel and action
Id definitely look around/research actions before committing to a R700 as you end up spending roughly the same as a fully blueprinted 700 but get an overall better product going with some of the other ones. Bartlein, Kreiger, Broughton, Lilja, Proof Research are among the many barrel choices.

If hunting id prob do a carbon fiber wrapped barrel for weight savings esp if you will be trekking with it.

Id definitely look around/research actions before committing to a R700 as you end up spending roughly the same as a fully blueprinted 700 but get an overall better product going with some of the other ones. Bartlein, Kreiger, Broughton, Lilja, Proof Research are among the many barrel choices.