• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Radio recommendations

Apothus

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 12, 2007
Prescott, Arizona
My buddy and I are looking to get a couple radios to keep in the trucks for communication when out in the woods and exploring the various canyons and some small caverns in the area. I started looking on Amazon but this is one area I have zero knowledge in. We have access to radios we use on the church security team but we tried them less then 2 miles apart the other day and couldn't even receive static.

So what we are looking for is good quality sound, reliable, and acceptable distance. I don't even know what to expect as acceptable? 2 miles, 5? We don't need a billion channels, doesn't have to be water proof to 600 feet or anything. Oh ya, we want it to be possible to use something like a lapelle mic and pigtail earpiece so we can talk quietly and have the sound go no further than our ear.

Of course it has to do all this for $10. Just kidding, quality comes at a price, but we are simple tradesmen with families and homes to pay for so nothing that's stupid expensive please

FRS radios from Walmart/Target/Cabelas/Bass Pro, etc. will be the easiest and least expensive option, but range will be seriously lacking. If you want/need better performance amateur (ham) radio will get the job done, but it requires taking a test and getting licensed (easy to do).

I agree with the ham radio route its easy. And you can get them relatively affordable.