• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

RCBS chargemaster or Denver scales?

Re: RCBS chargemaster or Denver scales?

I have no experience with the Denver scale. I have used a Chargemaster for about a year and really like it. Mine broke a few months back. RCBS customer service was very good and they sent me a new one. The replacement seems faster and rarely goes over .1 or .2 as these have been known to do. I would recommend the Chargemaster based on my experience of it so far.

How anal are you?

I like the Chargemaster, enough that I own 2 of them, with the combined speed they are the ticket for accurate and speedy reloading. I tried the toss and trickle to .01 grain with a more accurate scale (vs .1 gr for the CM) and didn't notice enough of a difference to justify the time. I also noticed myself reaching into the pan to remove one kernal of powder.....and that's when I realized I might be going overboard.

I'm a very recreational tactical type shooter, so the CM does it all and more without issue and gets the needed accuracy. If I was trying to break world records at 1,000 yards then I'd be trickling to the kernel.....lucky for my marriage I'm not.

Search under Kombayotch's posts for the straw trick, you'll almost eliminate all overcharges, it works really well. I haven't changed my internal programming for my specific load, but I will and that should make it even faster.

J

The CM is capable of great accuracy if tuned and if precaustions are taken to monitor and eliminate sources of error caused by drift. In combination with the reducer, I have my s/w tuned to the point that removing then adding again a kernel or two of Varget will make the readout fluctuate between two values.