• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

RCBS Comp Dies?

MD2Colo

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 3, 2011
Littleton, CO
I'm sure some of you guys have these, how are they?
Was thinking about a full length for the gas gun and just a neck for the bolt gun.

RCBS Dies at midway

Currently using Hornady Custom Grade dies, but I'm attracted to this bushing setup because I like being able to set neck tension.
I'm still pretty new to the reloading gig and haven't tried using bushing dies yet, but I like the mic adjustment on the seater and it seems that these bushing dies are the way to go.

Anybody using these care to share their experience/opinion? Any little special nuances/issues with these?
THanks dudes

Re: RCBS Comp Dies?

"RCBS Comp Dies?"

No short, loosely fitted bullet sliding sleeve deserves the lable "comp die"; that design feature includes both of the costly RCBS and Hornady seaters. ONLY Forster/Redding seaters have a spring loaded full body/bullet alignment sleeve that actually holds everything in line before seating starts so ONLY they approximate what can be done with a Wilson type real precision hand die. IMHO.

Lee's Collet neck die is more useful than any bushing dies for those of us who fire factory rifles with SAAMI chambers. IMHO.

Sounds like I need to look at those Redding/Forster dies...

thanks fuzzball.

checking out the collet ones, also.

I'm such a noob at reloading I don't even know what a collet die is. flame away.

Currently reading about collet dies and the like

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MD2Colo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">

checking out the collet ones, also.

I'm such a noob at reloading I don't even know what a collet die is. flame away.