• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

RCBS Matchmaster set setup

shawn.r2020

Private
Minuteman
Jan 25, 2024
OR
Hey all, new guy here, been reading posts for years off google and finally decided its time. Please be easy on me

Down to it... Im starting to load for 6 ARC, my die set arrived and its time to get after it. Loading for a self built 18" ballistic advantage AR set on getting 1000 yrd+, and to start Im working with 100 Hornady once fired and 200 Starline virgin brass, Federal match SRP, LEVEREVO, 103 gr. ELDX. Wanting to load a ladder for a node.

My RCBS Matchmaster set arrived, now for setup... Im still very new at this precision loading/ bushing die thing... google dosent give much on fine setting these dies. Could any of you folks walk me through getting dialed in and what in what order of op. For set up. Im under impressions on taking out the bushing, sizer button/ decapper, to find shoulder set back _ Lock ring _ reinstall bushing to set its sizing depth on the neck (how far down is best?) _ reinstall (sizer button/decapper retainer included with set?) _ lock it all together and GO AT IT.

This all sound generally correct? Not wanting to oversize or over work brass.. this stuff is hard to come by.

For those that know way more.. Im curious on understanding if/ how to go about various ways to set this sizer die up... with sizer on vs retainer? With or without bushing for body, shoulder, and neck expansion from the inside only? Removing the expander and sizing only using bushing to get neck tension? ... so many variables to adjust vs my standard full length sizing dies.

I appreciate you!