• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

RCBS Scale Drifting?

LoneWolfUSMC

Lt. Colonel
Minuteman
I have a RCBS Rangemaster 750 scale.

It's worked great up till now but I realized yesterday that after 5-10 minutes it would drift by about 0.2gr. I had to bust out my Lee Balance Scale to check my charges. I changed the battery and it still off.

Anyone else have this problem?

I have not called RCBS Customer Service yet.

Re: RCBS Scale Drifting?

I leave mine on all the time and that helps. Also make sure it is level, no magnets around and no floresent lights. Hope this helps.

Jay Seaquist

Does it stay on all the time with the AC adapter plugged in?

I ask because I lost the AC Adapter for mine within a week of having it. I didn't really care at the time because I don't need any more wires across my bench.

I know on the battery it will shutoff in a few minutes when not used.

Ya, I leave mine pluged in and on all the time. Keeping it Level realy helps also. Gotta go,,,have a good one.

Jay Seaquist

Go to Radio Shack an get a WallWart that supplies the power you need...plug that into a small Uninterruptable power supply/conditioner such as used for computers. Hide it under your desk and leave it on ALL the time. Works for me.

My RCBS doesn't drift, but sometimes it errors. There is no battery in mine, just the AC adapter. Most of my problems are due to vibration, passing trucks, the 25 year old freezer with motor mounts that have hardened to the consistency of spring steel that I share the garage with, etc. Weights go up and down, then settle down, when there's loud interference. Takes a long time, a minute or more sometimes, to get a steady reading.

I am going to try to pickup a power supply for it and see if that helps.