• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Precision Rifle Gear Real world tripod stability expectations

Freediver111

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Feb 28, 2018
Oregon
I’m relatively new to tripod shooting. I compete in local matches and hunt, but just being honest that it’s only been a year since getting my first “good” shooting tripod set-up.

I didn’t F up and got a RRS anvil 30 head. No complaints there. Where I might have F-d is going with a Leofoto sa-324 for the legs, but that kind of depends if my expectations are too high or maybe it’s my lack of practice being steady on a tripod while standing.

I plan on buying a TFTC-24L because at this point I can’t imagine hunting without a tripod after this last season, and I want to have something more solid. That being said, the only reason I’m not in love with the Leofoto is just I find it not very solid when taking standing shots. Making a reasonable hunting shot while standing at big game within 300 yards is doable with the Leofoto, but I find it pretty shaky beyond that. I had my 11 yr old shoot a doe last weekend at 200 yds standing position off the Leo/Anvil set-up. She was a little shaky, but I admit I checked the stability after the kill and it wasn’t amazing. Doable though. Will I see a noticeable stability improvement with the RRS, or is it pretty much that I need more practice/technique to get stable while shooting standing out to 400 or 500 yds? Sorry if that’s a dumb question. I don’t doubt the quality of the RRS at all.

Last edited:
A couple different factors here.
Without a doubt some of the wobble is most certainly you and your technique. A good reference for some tripod work is modern day snipers tripod stuff as well as a great thread on here by @Diver160651 .