• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Night Vision Realistic accuracy expectations with a thermal

Fair chase

Private
Minuteman
Mar 10, 2021
Kentucky
I’m just getting into the world of thermal picking up a Iray bolt TH50c v2.
Man it’s totally different from regular scope .
So I’m wondering if my rifle with day time optic will hold 1/2” moa what can I expect with my thermal ?

Set your day scope on 3x and shoot a group. Given that the thermal will have somewhat more trouble with a fine point to aim on, you will be a bit less precise than the 3x day sight. That said, you will be "minute of critter" at all ranges at which you can actually identify a target.

Set your day scope on 3x and shoot a group. Given that the thermal will have somewhat more trouble with a fine point to aim on, you will be a bit less precise than the 3x day sight. That said, you will be "minute of critter" at all ranges at which you can actually identify a target.
Well stated. My aging eyes seem to require high magnification and crystal clear optics to shoot sub moa anymore.
Ive probably got a 40 year old 3x tasco in a junk bin that would be a more even test.

when you require high magnification to shoot little groups its typically because you focus on the wrong thing while shooting. thermal or night vision limits the information into your eye. set your diopter/reticle crystal clear and focus on it. youll be able to shoot moa or less with a thermal as well.

Your field shooting positional capabilities will impact your accuracy more.