• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Recommendation on a chamber reamer for 260 Remington

McGuyver

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 29, 2011
Utah
Hello all,

I am getting ready to purchase a chamber reamer to do a 260 Remington and I was looking for some suggestions on whether to do a standard SAAMI chamber or a match chamber. Standard throat of custom throat? As it stands right now, I am considering a live pilot reamer from Pacific Tool and Gauge, with standard throat. Maybe a carbide instead of high speed steel to give me a little more life out of it. I am a beginner at this so I figure on doing a few practice chambers on some worn out barrels before trying to do it on my Krieger blank. Does anyone know what the difference is between the standard and match chambers? tighter clearances maybe? I want to use this gun in practical/tactical matches. I'm thinking I could use a throat reamer if I wanted to extend the throat from the standard length if need be (for longer bullets but want to still fit in an Alpha Industries longer than standard magazine), so no need to get a reamer with a custom throat. Is this a sound approach?
Thanks for the input in advance.

Last edited:
I have a ptg reamer with .070 freebore.i can shoot the Berger 140 gr. and still fit in a standard length mag.unless you are going to chamber a bunch of rifles there is no need for the carbide reamer

Just had my new barrel spun on and I elected for the PT&G .260 Tac Match GAP reamer. It has a .297neck to run Lapua brass, and .079 freebore witch allows me to run 140 AMAXs at mag length. Works great.

Thanks for the input guys. How many chambers could I expect to get out of a high speed steel reamer vs. a carbide reamer?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk