• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Red Dot Question

Bridges90

Private
Minuteman
Dec 29, 2017
Ashland, KY
Hello, I am rather new to the red dots on a pistol and I have noticed once I get my dot zero'd the dot itself never seems to line up with my actual iron sights. Is this normal? On both my handguns with optics the dot itself is always skewed to the left of the iron sights.

Are your sights co-witnessed?
Are you shooting with both eyes open vs one eye closed?
Is your iron shooting picture perfectly centered?
Are you sure about that? =)

The dot should line up provided you have co-witnessed sights. Of course a small margin left or right is not a huge issue with pistol sights (I shot a 6 MOA dot, but prefer a 2MOA or less on rifles).

the sights I use are about a lower third co witness. I shoot with 1 eye open and its a p10c so the front sight isnt dove tailed like a glock is, it naturally sits centered on the slide.

Unless the dot and its base was specifically designed to match your iron sights It probably won't line up.
This is my experience as well.

Test it yourself. Shoot the irons only. Shoot the red dot on a different target. They likely will both hit.

Remember with the red dot in both sighting it in and usage, you're not looking AT the dot. You're looking at the target with the dot superimposed over your target.