• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Hunting & Fishing Red Stags (and now DUCKS) in NZ

CCarls

Private
Minuteman
Jun 10, 2007
New Zealand
Don't post here too often, usually just lurk, but figured you guys might like to see some pics and such from a red deer hunt last weekend here in New Zealand. I also wanted to see if you guys had any recommendations for inexpensive binocs for glassing. If I had the money to get nice ones I would but I'm a broke student so gotta. I don't really have a price range as I'll have to save up for anything. Just trying to find the cheapest pair that work well enough.

Disclaimer: you'll have to excuse my photos. A lot were taken in low light with the iso cranked or from far away with my weak zoom so they're cropped so you can see the animals. I was more worried about the hunt than getting good pictures and the panoramas were hastily slapped together.

I made buddies with a hunting guide here and last week he called me up and asked if I wanted to go help him out on a hunt he was guiding for red stag on the east coast. I jumped at the chance. He was an experienced guide with 10 years here and a bunch of time in BC before that guiding for moose, bighorns, etc so I was eager to tag along and learn.

We only had one evening and the following morning due to the client's work schedule and we were chasing one particular (huge) stag so it was a challenge. The client had taken 3 nice stags with him scoring in the 260-280 range and was dead set on getting the one of the elusive bigger guys that are on the 14k acre station. We got out to the station saturday afternoon and headed straight up into the mountains.

The mountain in the distance was the area we were hunting.
hunting010.jpg