• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Redding FL resizing die.

silentnswift

Private
Minuteman
Jun 13, 2012
Kentucky
I have a Redding FL resizing die for .300 win mag. I am by no means a reloading expert, but also am not completely new to reloading. The Redding die is the only die I have ever gotten a case stick in. And since getting it and using it I have done this twice. From my experience and research the only reason a case should get stuck is lack of lube. So I was extra cautious last time. Anyone else ever have trouble with a certain die or brand of dies?

OK, what lube are you using? And stuck where? In the bottom stroke from the case head, or from the top stroke through the neck?

For fuck sakes, don't say Hornady One Shot.

Did you clean the die really well before use ? Are your cases very clean as a dirty case can grip the die .
What lube did you use and how did you apply it ? After cleaning the die very well inspect inside for any roughness Redding dies are usually very well finished . A handy tool to inspect inside dies is a cheap Doctors Otoscope the thing they use to look inside your ears .

Used rcbs lube and a lube pad, case was stuck on the bottom around the web. She’ll holder ripped the case head on the down stroke. Same issue both times. Have imperial wax on the way, but have always used a lube pad and brush, with rcbs lube in the past. Cases where tumbled not ultra sonic clean or anything.

I tried the RCBS lube & pad in the early 1970's. Got stuck cases and threw them both out. Been using Imperial, Spray lanolin, Mink oil in a can, Chap stick, Ballistol and synthetic oil or gear lube and haven't stuck a case in a very long time.

If you have any Mobil 1 synthetic oil, try that. Very light application.