• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Redding standard die set vs. match die set?

cgv69

Private
Minuteman
Jun 4, 2009
Boone Co., KY
Getting ready to order a 223 die set to go with a new press in order to begin my journey into reloading. My first loads will be an attempt at loading precision 223 rounds for my Remmy 5R. I am brand new to reloading and I’m new to precision rifles in general too and don’t ever expect to be a competition level shooter. So with that said, should I order the standard Redding 2 piece die set for .223 or their “Type S Match Bushing 2-Die Set”?

The upgrade to the match set will set me back about another $80 and is described as …
“The Redding Type S Match Bushing 2-Die Set maintains exact control of the case neck while full length sizing and uses the same interchangeable bushings (.001" increments) as those used in other Redding Bushing Style Neck Sizing Dies. Includes the Type S Bushing Full Sizing Die and the Competition Seating Die.” And the “Competition Seating Die” is described as…