• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Redding Type S FL bushing help needed

DamnDave

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 7, 2009
California
I have the 334, 335 & 336 TN bushings for the Redding Type S FL dies in 308. Normally I use my 334 for PMC brass, 335 for Federal and 336 for my Magtech. I found a bunch of once fired PPU brass in my bin and am tumbling it now. I don't have any unfired rounds of it to measure, so is there another way to measure it to know which bushing I should use? I am pretty new to reloading so any info would be helpful.

Not sure if it matters, but they are being shot from a R700 SPS Varmint 308 1:12

Re: Redding Type S FL bushing help needed

Once your brass is done tumbling measure the neck thickness, multiply by 2 + .308, then subtract .002 or .003 whatever you prefer.

ex. .012 neck x 2 = .024 +.308=.332 - .002(neck tension desired)= .330 bushing

Is this what you are looking for?

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: 18Echo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Once your brass is done tumbling measure the neck thickness, multiply by 2 + .308, then subtract .002 or .003 whatever you prefer.

ex. .012 neck x 2 = .024 +.308=.332 - .002(neck tension desired)= .330 bushing

Is this what you are looking for? </div></div>

That is exactly what I was looking for.

Thanks!

Hopefully I do not need to buy another bushing. Those badboys are starting to add up!