• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Reload Muzzle Velocity and ELR

StormHorny

Private
Minuteman
Dec 7, 2013
Elizabeth, CO
I am fairly new to reloading and am curious as to how much variance you are getting with muzzle velocities with each shot?
I am shooting Sako TRG42 338LM and using 91gr of H1000, OAL 3.68", 300gr SMK's and F215 primers in new Lapua brass. I've got 20 rounds though a Chrony Beta and have it placed about 10-12' out in front. My velocities are a low of 2713fps and a high of 2782fps. The bulk of my test shots were closer to the average speed than the high or low speeds. I averaged out my velocities for the 20 shots and went out to 400 and 600yds, plugged in my data and was getting what I would consider for my abilities decent hits every shot using Strelok.
The farther out I go, the more I realize that I need to make my reloads tighter and get my muzzle velocities more consistent.....my questions are what are your velocity +/- FPS tolerances? What do you consider the most important process in reloading to tighten the muzzle velocities to make the gap between high and low tighter?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk