• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Reload recipe for m118 ammo

jeepnjc

Private
Minuteman
Dec 17, 2010
I Just bought a reloading kit, so I'm new to this, does anyone have a detailed recipe for the M118 LR round? That's what I've been shooting, I would also consider fed match 175gr, or hornady's 179gr. Everyone's thoughts on what works. My gun is a rem 700 with a krieger 20" barrel, 1-10 twist, backspaced for m118lr ammo 175 grain

Re: Reload recipe for m118 ammo

Why you want a M118LR cook book idea? No need for that. You can just make your recipe the way your rifle likes it. Try some 175 SMK's with a CCI BR-2 primer 44-45 gr of Varget in a Winchester case and OAL you can play with that to see were you have the best accuracy.

You have to remember military needs rounds that work with all there rifles. As to us civilian shooters with reloading kits can make our own custom rounds that our personal weapons like.

Aron-

If I remember correctly the M118 is a 175 SMK with 43.1 Reloder 15

My understanding is that with military (and probably commercial) ammo, the powder weight isn't set in stone, but based on how much is needed to get a certain muzzle velocity in a test rifle. Depending on the lot of powder, the exact weight could be different for any given ammo. I don't know if the M118LR is made by different contractors, but I would imagine that the powders might be different brands too (I can't see WCC/Olin using RL-15 when they make their own powders)

This information is from a friend that works on the 50BMG line at Olin (Winchester) in E. Alton, IL.

Reactions: Randy E

All these points are valid, especially the one about load data being a moving target where military, (and perhaps commercial) ammunition production is concerned.