• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Reloading .308 steps

Scratchthejeepguy

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 27, 2013
WI
I've been reloading for a few years now, and have been getting about .5-.6 MOA with my R700, SPS, XLR, using 165g A-Max and 44.0g of Varget. I have a Dillon XL650 but use it for 5.56, and pistol calibers only. I use my single stage press for precision rifle.
It's been going great but I thought I'd explain my reloading process and see if I should be making any changes with anything. Here's my process, keep I mind my .308 brass never hits the ground:

1.shoot
2.anneal (every case)
3.spray lube
4.inspecting while depriming and full length resizing on the press
5.inspecting while chamfering and deburring
6.SS pin tumble and dry
7.prime all cases on the press
8.powder charge 20 at a time (shell holder capacity)
9.visual check for powder
10.seat bullet, (no crimp) measure for OAL every hundred or so
11.shoot and repeat

Questions:
I used to trim with the Lee hand trimmer, but recently got the WFT, I should be doing that after step number 4,correct?
And do I need to measure case length at all?

I'm still a little confused where the brass stretches. I thought it was at the base of the case, but we anneal at the neck so it must be there......?

Last edited:
The entire case stretches, especially when full length resized. That's why you get thinning and eventually case head separations at the "back" near the head. My understanding is that the case "flows" towards the neck. For the WFT you will not be able to just neck size from my experience, in order for it to fit in the collet of the WFT, it will need to be FL sized.

Why do you size before cleaning? I think you should clean, then anneal, then size