• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Reloading Beginner...

nations1017

Minuteman
Jan 26, 2011
MS
Ok guys, I'm new to the long range world and I'm looking to get into reloading being that it can be cost effective, increase accuracy, and allow the shooter to mix and match different rounds. I am on a budget and don't want to spend a fortune up front. Just looking for some tips and advice for different types of reloading equipment I will need to get started. I know there are several out there. I'm currently looking at Lee Precision and RCBS. I know that the Lee Precision is not quite on the same level as RCBS, but I've read and heard good reviews about it for the money you pay and what you get out of it...especially for a beginner. I've been looking at the Lee Precision 50th Anniversary kit. Any and all help will be much appreciated.

Re: Reloading Beginner...

Nothing wrong with Lee products. They are cost effective and work, especially for the beginning reloader. That said, I recommend a few "upgrades" to the kit. In order (IMHO):

- A RELOADING MANUAL. It's an invaluable asset that will be used throughout your lifetime of reloading. GET ONE. There are online resources, but they do not replace what is written in these books. Besides, they're good bathroom reading.
- Don't forget to add a chamfer/deburring tool. I don't see that it comes with the kit.
- Also, I don't see a powder trickler in the kit. Get one of those.
- A digital scale far exceeds the utility of the plastic beam scale that Lee produces.