• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Reloading Bench

Pig Slayer

Private
Minuteman
Apr 4, 2024
Texas, USA
Hey folks, first post here, I have seen some pretty nice bench builds and some improvised benches from Harbor Freight. I want to build my own so after scouring the forum I came up with a design I think will work well. I am planning to build the base out of 4x4 lumber. The base pieces will be assembled with 3/8" x 7" lag screws. For the top I plan on a combination of a 1.75" solid core door and .75" MDF for a total thickness of 2.5". I stepped the bottom shelves back about 6' so I can get my knees under the table a bit to sit comfortably. I will be mounting my Lyman T-Mag 2 press that sits on a 9" riser base from inline fabrication.

I am new to reloading and this will be my first bench built for that purpose. Any reasons why this bench wouldn't work? Any considerations I may have not thought of?

Reloading Bench 2.jpg.png

Reactions: simonp
Something that's worked pretty well for me in the past has been a double layer of 3/4 MDF - basically cut a sheet in half length-wise, and trim to fit - topped with a piece of 1/8" tempered hardboard on top. Think the stuff they used to make the old brown peg board out of, but without the holes. Some strips of double-sided carpet tape, and voila, you have a sacrificial top that can be easily renewed when necessary without rebuilding the whole f'ing bench. Drill into it, spill something, whatever. It can be replaced. Might be worth doing the sacrificial top in shorter sections (~3-4 ft) so you don't have to replace the *entire* top at once because of a boo-boo on one end.