• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Reloading Military Brass

werthless_one

Private
Minuteman
Oct 13, 2012
Hays, KS
I have a ton of LC 5.56, 7.62 and 9mm mil brass. Everyone says military brass has the primer crimp on it but I'm not seeing what they are talking about. What exactly am I looking for? Sorry for the stupid question but I'm just getting into reloading since I'm finally stateside.

Re: Reloading Military Brass

There is a "ring" around the primer cup of the case. You can also try priming one and you will see it's impossible to prime the case if it is crimped.

A primer crimp is a small piece of the case that is swaged into place around the edge of the primer. If you try to place a primer in the pocket without removing the crimp, it will not go in or you will ruin a primer trying.

Will a Rock Chucker remove the spent primers or do I need to use something else?

I decap and resize military brass all the time just go ease on the upstroke and you shouldn't have a problem. You will either have to ream the crimp out or use one of the primer pocket swage tools on the market before moving on though.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: 230grRN</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I decap and resize military brass all the time just go ease on the upstroke and you shouldn't have a problem. You will either have to ream the crimp out or use one of the primer pocket swage tools on the market before moving on though. </div></div>

I have a super swage but it seems like it would take a ton of time doing them one by one. Is there a quicker tool to do it?