• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Reloading old brass?

linc

Private
Minuteman
Jun 20, 2009
Tyler,TX
I'm fairly new to reloading ( been at it for a whole 6 months:).I bought some mixed head stamp brass,fc, rem umc, super winchester, rp, some lc and some ls that i guess are old mil. brass. Anyway mosted of it is tarnished and looks like some of it has been reloaded before. I figure they would be safe but I'm trying to dial my rifle in with a good load. So what ya'll think? chunk them or load same matched head stamps and give them a try? Its 3006 by the way.

Re: Reloading old brass?

linc,

You're gonna see your tightest groups by sticking to the same headstamp.

The tarnished stuff will revert to that state pretty quickly. Many 06 loads are pretty forgiving, but at very least seperate the commercial brass from the military. The military brass is substantially thicker, so has less case capacity. If you're loading anywhere near maximum, that difference will make your pressures and velocities fluctuate widely. Bad for accuracy and possibly dangerous to boot. Rookie is right though. If you can afford it, uniform brass is ideal.

Thanks guys, I have some I have been shooting that are matched head stamps. Dont have a chronograph. The accurate loads Im getting are light. Gonna keep on tweeking it, maybe I can find something that is fast enough yet retains the accuracy Im looking for. Guess I'll just let this brass sit for now.

Sort it out. If there is at least 50 or more of any head stamp use those as a group. If there is less than that of any consider them for plinking loads.
Have fun.