• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Reloading: The Time vs Cost Saving Equation

limamike56

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 9, 2008
Western North Carolina
For those of us with a limited amount of spare time, give good reloading components and some practice how long does it take to load say 100 rounds of 7.62x51? Also what are you really saving over factory ammo? Thanks.

For me, even the limited spare time is used well. The time I spend at my bench I don't consider to be spare, I enjoy this time. Its my personal quiet time, kinda like some people get 30 minutes or whatever when they first get home from work. Its my time, occasionally even scheduled!
As for cost....when I started reloading, I started shooting more so personally saw no real savings even after the initial investments.

Unless you're loading a big caliber like 338 lapua then the savings won't show up quickly. If you figure $1 a shot for 308 and then reloading is $.65 a round it will take a while to save the money on equipment. 338 at $5-6 a shot or $1.35 for a reload figuring brass lasts 5 times is a bigger savings.

I posted this up last year to give an idea of how long it takes me to do 100 cases from start to finish.
http://www.snipershide.com/shooting...118168-how-long-takes-me-load-100-rounds.html

Its a little shorter time wise now as I seat the cases while I'm dispensing powder and don't uniform primer pockets every time so cut the time by about 30 to 45 minutes.

It is a cost savings for sure but I shoot matches so I do shoot a lot, there would be no way I could afford factory ammo and go to the same amount of matches.