• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Reloading tips for AR15 in 223/5.56

Squid284

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 13, 2011
Oregon
I've been reloading for about 2 years for bolt guns and want to get into reloading for my AR which is a newly acquired Stag 24" 1:8" 5.56 chamber. I see a lot of posts for load info, which is great but I want to learn more on the differences/techniques for handloading a semi auto AR15. Any difference in reloading regimen for a 223 vs 5.56 vs Wylde? Crimping or don't bother? Stick to a COAL that fits in the magazine or are there signicantly better results loading .0XX" off the lands? How do I look for signs of over-pressure on brass, are they different on an AR versus a bolt gun? Any tips/tools/advice/best known methods or mistakes to avoid would be greatly appreciated. If I missed a similar thread please point me in the right direction. Thanks

Re: Reloading tips for AR15 in 223/5.56

I load for two ARs and for target/varmint work I use Redding full length dies. I also have RCBS small base dies but have not found them neccessary for function in my rifles. I also have a taper crimp die but it has not been required so I go with no crimp. I use cci br4 and remington 7 1/2 primers and have not had any slam fires. Both of my rifles are 8 twist and shoot bullets from 52 gr to 77gr well. Varget, A2520,Benchmark,8208,Blc-2 powders have all worked well. I load oal so that they just clear the mag Regards