• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Rem 700 AW mag cut help needed.

Ksracer

Private
Minuteman
Feb 14, 2017
I need to open up the bottom of a 700 clone for a double stack AW mag on my Bridgeport. It doesn't look like rocket science, but I've never done it before. Can anybody share some dimensions, tricks, or trouble areas to avoid? Even pics would help.
Thanks!

I'll help you out, if it's a two lug bolt... don't bother. It won't feed right. If you have to have AW mags you need a triple lug action. I tried them with a Bighorn...never fed right, regular AI mags...butter. There's a lesson there.

I'll help you out, if it's a two lug bolt... don't bother. It won't feed right. If you have to have AW mags you need a triple lug action. I tried them with a Bighorn...never fed right, regular AI mags...butter. There's a lesson there.

I have a defiance with an aw cut and have run aw mags in it for years with no issues. So that's just not true.

As far as the dimensions of the cut and how to do it, not really sure.

I know other people running them in a 2-lug with no issues. I guess the only lesson is that YOU couldn't make them work, doesn't mean other people aren't capable of it though.

Maybe you could tell me what I could possibly do to change how they work? I bought a custom action machined specifically to work with them, it does...but it has problems, and it's not 100%. The AW mags were designed for a three lug action. Lots of people with two lug actions have problems with AW mags.

But you go ahead and prove everyone wrong, I'm sure you're machining abilities and equipment will outshine the likes of everyone else that's attempted it!