• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rem 700 maxchamber pressure

roostercogburn98

Fudd gun collector extraordinaire
Supporter
Minuteman
Nov 3, 2010
I recently got an email from a gentleman who says a certain round that was designed for a delayed blowback style gun would cause excess chamber pressure in a bolt action rifle. He said in the range of 127,000 PSI. This sounds a but silly to me but I’m no professional. IF those pressures were ever present on a factory 700 SA what would it do to one? Just trying to wrap my head around the statement he made cause it doesn’t strike me as remotely accurate.

I recently got an email from a gentleman who says a certain round that was designed for a delayed blowback style gun would cause excess chamber pressure in a bolt action rifle. He said in the range of 127,000 PSI. This sounds a but silly to me but I’m no professional. IF those pressures were ever present on a factory 700 SA what would it do to one? Just trying to wrap my head around the statement he made cause it doesn’t strike me as remotely accurate.

Hi,

Could very well end your life insurance payments!

Industry proof rounds are essentially 1.5x operating pressure.

So that M700 SA for 7.62 Nato would fire 2 proof rounds at about 90k psi.

ANYTHING above that would be like playing hot potato with a Black Mamba while running in Houston TX traffic blindfolded.

Sincerely,
Theis

So I was correct in my thoughts that 120k should hand grenade any factory rem700. Now let’s place the details game and see what the general consensus is.