• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rem 700 PSS Starter Rifle?

MaverickNH

Private
Minuteman
Oct 30, 2010
Bedford, NH
Newbie here, trying to digest it all.

Many speak of the Rem 700 PSS as a good low-end starter rifle, but I see Remington doesn't list that anymore. Is it discontinued? If so, what's the equivalent NIB rifle?

Thanks-

Re: Rem 700 PSS Starter Rifle?

I believe it's called a 700P now and it may not be shown on their website because it's a Law Enforcement Rifle. Someone else can tell you for sure.

I would also disagree about that "low end" comment, unless you mean the price. I've had 3 700 PSS's, the first was one of the first 223 rifles that came out, which would shoot a ragged hole all day long with BLC2/40gr handloads. 1/2" groups @100yds with factory ammo. Similar results for the 308 and it opened up slightly for the 300wm I owned, but that's probably my error from the caliber. They are very competent rifles and make excellent first guns. I also happen to be very partial to the HS Prec stock it sits in. So much so, that I have 2 extras just waiting for projects. I like the slimmer, lower profile stock and lower weight.

If the 700P is just a little out of your range the 700 SPS tactical is also a great starter rifle for just a bit less.. Same rifle just shorter barrel (Better IMO) and just a slightly different stock. But the preformance for the $$ you spend is hard to beat.

But the 700PSS in now just the 700P.

IMO is in my opinion just FYI. Took me a while to learn half the slang on here so ill help you out haha