• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rem 700 trigger advice needed

Alderan

Private
Minuteman
Dec 30, 2019
Hey guys.
First time posting; so, please do be gentle :p

Im an amateur. Been in the sport for about 2 years. Got my self a 2nd hand Rem 700 Target Tactical in 308. Wanted a project gun, and oh boy, did i get my self a project.

Gun is stock; other than the picatini scope rail, the scope and and atlas bipod picatini adapter, i made no modifications to the rifle. Came with B&C stock, fully adjustable, 5r and 26in triangular barrel.

My problem is the trigger; omg the stock x-mark pro sucks. First, when i got it, it was at about 2.5lb. That 2.5lb is on empty chamber; with a dummy round chambred, the pull weight goes up by about 6oz (no clue why). Then i decided to clean the trigger by using Remington Action Cleaner; took the action out of the stock, sprayed, waited few minuts, used air compressor, repeted 2 times, put the bolt in.... The pull weight went up to 4.5lb. Did not touch anything other then flushed the trigger.

Then, I decided to buy a new trigger. Decided to go with TriggerTech Special (i know, i know, they are Canadian, but so am i, no one is perfect). Did not work; got nothing but problems with the trigger. But, my hat goes down to those guys; they did their best to try and help me. Exchanged the trigger after the first problem occurred and then they fully reimbursed me after the problem continued with the 2nd trigger. Got nothing but good things to say about TriggerTech customer service.